Shitt’s Creek – January Boxsets

It’s January.

January + No money + Dark nights = Lots of time to watch Boxsets.

I actually discovered Shitt’s Creek on Netflix just before Christmas. I was working part time and needed some background noise for when I was present wrapping. I genuinely have no idea why I picked this to watch out of the masses of other shows I’ve heard people raving about on a regular basis. But I did. And I am glad.

One episode in and I was hooked. I text my friend Matt and told him about it, and before I knew it we were both cancelling the plans we had made to hang out because we were too busy watching in a bid to finish it first.

141119schitts-creek1

The story revolves around the super rich Johnny Rose, his soap star wife Moira and their two kids, über-hipster son David and socialite daughter Alexis. When they suddenly find themselves broke,they are forced to leave their pampered lives to rebuild their financial empire from Schitt’s Creek, an arm pit of a town that Johnny once bought as a joke.

It has a bloody brilliant cast mixing comedy veterans with fresh faces. Johnny Rose is played by Eugene Levy (you know, the dad from American pie) and the father-son power dynamics between him and his real-life son Dan Levy (who plays David) are especially funny. Alexis, played by Annie Murphy perfectly captures a caricature of Paris Hilton in “The Simple Life” with the impulsive, childish hedonism of rich “party girls”. I’ve been a fan of Chris Elliott since seeing him in “There’s Something About Mary” and he is simply hilarious as the town’s slobbish, redneck Mayor.

schitts-creek-tv-review-pop.jpg

It is well written, and incredibly funny. You can’t help but fall in love with the family who, at first, seem to have no redeeming characteristics.

Apparently there are 2 series already, and another coming out this year but Netflix only seems to carry the first one! Gahh!

I highly recommend if you fancy a light hearted giggle, but don’t blame me if you become hooked.

Oh, and by the way, Matt – he is a guy with great knees and elbows. He said the show was good and, in his opinion, you can always trust someone with nice bendables. So it must be alright.

Clarke x

 

Leave a Reply

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

