Protein Perfect Breakfast Cake

img_2967I am the “Early Bird” to Hannahs’ “Night Owl”. And you know what they say, the early bird catches the worm… However, when my alarm sounds at 6am every morning I don’t want to have to go and catch worms for breakfast – I want something quick, easy and healthy.

I can assure you its not something I’ve been growing under my bed…I know it looks a bit mouldy.

I came across a fab little recipe by Holly Perkins, CSCS, author of Lift to Get Lean and creator of Women’s Strength Nation

Apparently, “this recipe has a brilliant macronutrient breakdown to provide the right amount of protein, fat, and carbs. It’s great to fuel you for the day, and perfect for before a workout. Even better is that it is SUPER easy to make with only four main ingredients.”

I try to stick to a gluten free diet so I used GF porridge oats and it turned out absolutely fine! I also added two tablespoons of flaxseed for an added omega 3 boost!

WARNING: This recipe has no sugar in it so *shocker* it’s not very sweet..! So if you are used to Starbucks muffins for breakfast this might take a bit of getting used to. My mum reckons its best smothered in maple syrup or honey, I told her this kind of defeats the object of a healthy breakfast, she told me to shut up… 

Protein Perfect Breakfast Cake:

Ingredients:

Liquid egg whites                          3 cups

Gluten free porridge oats           2 cups

          Coconut oil                                      3 Tb + 1 tsp

 Frozen raspberries                        4 cups

Salt                                                     1 tsp

Ground Flax Seed                           2 Tb

Baking powder                               ½ tsp

Vanilla extract                                1 tsp

NB: It is a LOT of egg whites, I got caught out the first time I made this and tried to crack my own eggs and scoop out the yokes. Disaster, the consistency was all wrong. I’ve since discovered Two Chicks. This little life saver can be picked up in the dairy isle, I’ve only found them in Waitrose so far but they are probably everywhere, I just haven’t actually looked. You’ll need roughly one and a half cartons.

img_2946

Tools:

Blender                                                                    9×9 inch baking pan

        Large mixing bowl                                               Coconut oil to grease pan

    Whisk                                                                       Tupperware for storage

Measuring cups and spoons

You’ll definitely need to invest in some of these bad boys! I got mine from Tiger and love, love, love them!

IMG_2947.JPG

Directions

Preheat oven to 180 degrees. Grease your baking tray with a bit of coconut oil, and rub some into your hands too – super soft!

Pop your oats into a blender and blend until it looks like flour.

In a very large mixing bowl combine egg whites, oat flour, flax seed, coconut oil, salt, baking powder and vanilla. Whisk just until there are no flour clumps; do not over whisk.

NOTE: Batter will be very liquid.

Fold in the frozen raspberries and break up any clumps.

NOTE: Batter will still be very liquid!

Pour into pan. Gently stir to distribute the fruit evenly in the pan.

IMG_3675.gif

It looks a bit like sick, but don’t worry, that’s normal.

Bake for 20 minutes. Stick something in it (not a finger, a knife or skewer) and check if its done. If it comes out sticky pop it back in the over for another 10 mins and check it again, repeat until your sticky stick comes out clean.

Let cake cool completely. Cut into wedges and put one in your mouth.

Put the rest in a Tupperware container and enjoy! With or without Honey!

img_2956

Leave a Reply

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

